9 Types of Siamese Cats

Siamese cats are fun to have as pets because they are very sociable and smart. They are also ideal pets families since they adore kids. These blue-eyed furry beauties are one of the oldest domesticated cat breeds and they came from Siam or modern-day Thailand. This breed is divided into two categories, the traditional and modern. Traditional Siamese cats include the first three types, the Applehead, Old Style and Classic Siamese. Modern Siamese cats include the Wedgies and the light and dark-colored points. 

Here are the 9 types of Siamese cats and their particular traits:

1. Applehead

Applehead siamese
Image: istockphoto.com / axelbueckert

This type is the stocky version of the breed and the trait that stands out the most is their round and apple-like head along with a downward-pointing nose. Applehead Siamese cats have larger frames than the other types, smaller ears and stand taller than the rest. They are less vocal compared to the other types, friendly and love their humans. They also have longer and fluffy fur with the males weighing up to 18 pounds. 

2. Old Style Siamese 

Old Style Siamese
Image: istockphoto.com / wisan224

The Old Style Siamese cat is lankier than the Applehead, has a medium-size built and bigger ears and nose. This type also has a slightly longer face compared to the other traditional Siamese types and have well-defined almond eyes. These athletic cats often have crossed eyes which is said to be intentionally done with breeding. They are attached to their owners, are good pets and love to follow you around and quieter than the Applehead. 

3. Classic Siamese 

Image: istockphoto.com / Heinsbergsphoto

This type is the most energetic and athletic among the three types of traditional Siamese cats. They have long and sleek bodies, bigger ears, pointed faces and upturned noses.  These cats have longer tails and are prone to ear infections and obsessive grooming just like the other traditional types. Like the typical Siamese cat, this type is very affectionate and yearns for their human’s cuddles and petting. This type was only recognized by the Cat Fanciers Association and International Cat Association in 2007 and recognized as an “Advanced New Breed” in 2009. 

4. Wedgie 

Image: istockphoto.com / Tina_Rencelj

The Wedgie’s distinctive feature is their wedge-like heads, big pointy ears, slanted eyes and wide noses that point straight out.  This type was popular in the 1980s and considered the current show cat.   Just like the rest of the types, wedgies are affectionate, have a sweet disposition and have the loudest meows with a lower tone compared to other types. Crossbreeding caused this type to become prone to kidney disease and some only live for up to six years although if well-cared for and given a healthy diet they can live longer. 

5. Chocolate Points

Chocolate Points
Image: istockphoto.com / emeliana

This modern Siamese type has a cream-colored base with chocolate brown colored points and looks similar to the Seal Points. This is a very rare type with an ivory-colored body, has little to no shading and the points are deep chocolate brown and with a warm tone. The points’ color is usually patchy and has many variations while some are as dark as Seal Points and when they are still kittens it is very hard to tell them apart. These cats are friendly, energetic, intelligent and very playful like the other modern types.

6. Lilac Points 

Lilac Point Siamese
Image: istockphoto.com / OceanProd

This rare type which was first recognized in the 1960s looks pale blue in color from the eyes to the paws. These cats have a striking pair of china-blue eyes while the other types have electric blue eyes. They have predominantly light cream or magnolia-colored coats and the nose leather and paw pads are a pale pink undertone. Their colors stay pale and soft during their lifetime and they are the diluted version of the Chocolate and Blue Point types.

7. Cream/Seal Points 

Seal Point Siamese
Image: istockphoto.com / KrissiLundgren

This type has the original founding color point and the first Siamese cat pair that arrived in England in the 1880s, Pho and Mia were Seal Points. These cats have a cream color base but they have darker fawn points on the face, paws and tail that continue to darken as they age. This type’s paw pads and nose leather is also dark brown. Seal Points have albino origins owing to the temperature-sensitive genes associated with albinism and can also be seen in other breeds like the Balinese, Birman, Ragdoll, Tonkinese, Himalayan and British Shorthair. 

8. Blue Points

Blue Point Siamese
Image: istockphoto.com / Irina Nedikova

These cats have striking coat color with a bluish-white base and bluish-gray points on the ears, face and lightly on the paws and tail. These blue-eyed and grayish-blue colored furry beauties are lovable, loyal and perennial home buddies. This Siamese cat type is a diluted version of the Seal Point along with a hint of brown.  The males can weigh up to six kg. while females up to 4.5 kg. and the life expectancy is eight to 15 years.

9. Red Points

Red Point siamese
Image: istockphoto.com / Madison Muskopf

This type of Siamese cat is rare but at the moment they are not recognized as a point since it is not part of the traditional color set. They have creamy white fur and the color point combinations are dark amber, crimson and orange shades. The points are bright and reddish-gold matched with these cats’ sparkling blue eyes. These cats are known as Red Point in the US and Australia but they are more popular as Flame Point in the UK. 


Siamese cats have distinctive physical features with big personalities. There are at least nine types of Siamese cats and they are divided into two major sub-categories, the traditional and modern. Despite the variations in color points and differences in physical traits, these types all possess the trademark qualities of the breed which are being vocal, loyal to their owners, very affectionate, energetic and great family pets as they get along well with children and other cats and dogs.